INF506: A Delicious & Pinterest Reflection

Standard

As the course draws to a close I feel that it is important to reflect on the social media tools that I have been using as a part of the course. I had been wanting to try Pinterest for a while so the course provided a good impetus to do so. I had long been urged to use Delicious by the teacher librarian at my school, but had found that I had just never had the time to set up an account so again, the course gave me good reason to do so.

Critically reflecting upon my Delicious experience first, I was initially skeptical as I feel that using the bookmarks tab was just as simple. However, I have really enjoyed and really benefitted from my experience using Delicious. It has not only been an excellent way to organise my bookmarks and familiarise me with the notion of tagging, it has also been very beneficial to share my bookmarks with others. Another great advantage has been bookmarking sites and blogs etc. for future use as I have often been pressed for time but have not wanted to lose some of the excellent resources I have found in my searches. As I have saved a lot of bookmarks on various topics I have found the ‘notes’ section extremely helpful as well as it has been an easy way of summarising articles to save me time scrolling through all my bookmarks looking for information. I have been conducting some research on the various uses of Delicious and Hines recommends setting up a staff wide Delicious account (2010).  When I return to the workplace, I am really excited about setting up a library staff Delicious account as a quick and simple way to share resources, instead of emailing resources back and forth like I have done in the past.

Turning next to my reflections of Pinterest, again, like Delicious, I have had positive experiences using this social media tool as well. I had always wanted to try using Pinterest as many of my friends have accounts. I like that it is a highly visual tool which allowed me to categorise information and add descriptions to the various images. I was also pleased to find that, most of the time, the pictures linked back to the original webpages from which they came, making it easier to refer back to the original site if needs be. I had initially thought that Pinterest was a site for women with ‘recipes, wedding dresses and braids’ (Popolo, 2013). However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the social site is also ‘flooded with teachers, universities, designers, airlines, nonprofits, businesses, real estate brokers, and news outlets that have explored other ways to use Pinterest’ (Popolo, 2013). I also realised as part of my exploring that there were so many categories of boards that could be followed. I initially signed up to Pinterest thinking that I would use it for my hobbies, rather than work, but I can now see the value of Pinterest for information professionals as well and I am excited to continue using the social media site.

References:

Hines, K. (2010, October 11).How to use Delicious: The king of social bookmarking. Social Media Examiner: Your Guide to the Social Media Jungle. Retrieved from http://www.socialmediaexaminer.com/how-to-use-delicious-social-bookmarking/

Popolo, M. (2013, April 23). How to use Pinterest for beginners. PCMag.com. Retrieved from http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2418047,00.asp

Leave a Reply

