Information Literacy

Standard

I found the readings for topic four very good for a number of reasons. Firstly, they were obviously extremely helpful for assignment one when attempting to define an information literate school community. Secondly, I had no idea that the term can encompass such a broad range of meanings. I was also unaware of the fact that the term is constantly changing/evolving with the advent of new technologies (though in hindsight that makes a lot of sense.) I think the Langford article made getting my head around the term ‘information literacy’ much clearer for me.

As a result of this and working on assignment one I realise that I need to improve my own information literacy skills. I am now making steps in my classroom (and in my professional development) to try and teach students to be more critical receivers of the broad range of information available to them.

Leave a Reply

