Assignment Reflection Part One

Standard

I found it much more challenging than I expected to define the role of a teacher librarian in creating an information literate school community. I thought I had it well planned in my head but it became difficult to discuss all my ideas and adhere to the word count. I decided to focus my paper on leadership and the ways in which a school librarian needs to lead the community. Discovering the leadership role in this topic was a revelation to me (as a classroom teacher) as I had not realised the large scope the TL role encompasses.

I found the ASLA and ALIA standards an excellent starting point for my ideas as the standards were very clear and they covered a broad range of areas. I will definitely be using these standards as a focusing point for my next assignments, and when I embark on my role as a teacher librarian.

Leave a Reply

